Gaming

A sleepy short about Breath of the Wild (spoilers)

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild continues to amaze me as I traverse the world Nintendo created. I had to share an experience I probably will never experience in gaming again.

There is a particular puzzle in Breath of the Wild that requires you to maneuver a ball through a maze. I will say at this point that the motion controllers are downright awful. They are way too finicky and react to extremely slight movement. Unless you have steady hands motion puzzles will always shake. As a result I could not keep my hands steady and was about to give up the maze. As I threw the controller towards my side the maze spun around wildly. And then I noticed something.

The maze could be turned upside down. The other side of the maze was flat. I turned my controller upside down in excitement to see that the maze turned upside down as well. From there it was a simple flick of the wrist, the ball was out of the maze and onto the pedestal I needed it to go, and off I went. The amount of variance one can go about clearing puzzles is staggering. This moment of clarity was so eye opening I had to shut the game off once I had cleared the puzzle entirely. It easily was one of the most rewarding and creative ways I have ever finished a puzzle.

Now if only the motion controls didn’t suck so much.

Leave a Reply

